Sarajevo, Bosnia Herzegovina

DSCF5820
Robin on the balcony of the hostel

Day 86. The importance of asking questions when you travel…. It’s easy to fall into a lonely routine when you travel solo, and I was about to buy a €50 train ticket that did a crazy detour from Belgrade through Zagreb to Sarajevo, because I could find no better option on the web, when I decided to ask the hostel’s staff what was the better way to get to Sarajevo. They told me about the mini-cabs that take you from your hostel door and drop you to your next hostel for €25. I didn’t only save money, but travel time, as well as the trouble of searching for my hostel in a foreign city. (Yes, I know what you’re thinking. “But Audrey, that’s all part of travelling.” After 86 days abroad on your own, I believe you’ll perceive things differently.)

DSCF5805
The market and the Red Wall

That being said, I really loved Sarajevo. The streets were amazing, and traces of history at every corner. The weirdest thing was that much of that history isn’t very old. We’re talking about a war that occurred in the 90s. It’s probably why the Free Walking Tour was the most interesting one I did so far—because I was alive when most of what we talked about happened. Like the roses that mark the ground around the city, which were caused by bombshells. Or the market, where they erected a wall with the names of the 68 people who died there in 1994, hit by a bomb. Then of course, there’s the bridge, but I wasn’t alive when that happened. The bridge where Franz Ferdinand was assassinated on June 28, 1914, the act considered the cause of WW1.

DSCF5809
Latin Bridge

Beside her dark history, Sarajevo is a beautiful city, with tons of things to do. You can go to the excellent Hippie Tea House, up Kovači street, where the very sociable owner will tell you everything there is to do. But just about everyone is up for a chat, because Bosnians take their time to live, which is probably why I fell in love with the place.

DSCF5829
The view up Jekovac Street
DSCF5825
The cemetery
3 thoughts on “Sarajevo, Bosnia Herzegovina

Leave a Reply

