Book Discussion: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

2Hello fellow readers! 

Time has come to begin our discussion on the selected book for May, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs.

Short summary

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (young-adult fiction, dark fantasy) is the first novel in Riggs’s trilogy. It’s about Jacob, a peculiar boy who doesn’t know yet that he’s peculiar, who’ll travel all the way to a secluded British island to uncover the secrets of his grandfather’s past. Turns out that all the tales Grandpa told him about invisible boys, floating girls, and kids with a mouth in the back of their head, are true.

The story is illustrated with a collection of black and white/downright creepy pictures of children with unnatural abilities, that matches the novel’s essence perfectly.

Then, a few years later, when I was fifteen, an extraordinary and terrible thing happened, and there was only Before and After.

-Ransom Riggs, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

missperegrine_334x518

My impressions

First, I loved it.

Second, did you know that the photos are authentic? (Consider me creeped out.) Only a few of them went through minimal post-processing. That’s amazing!

It really felt to me like there were two parts/moods in this novel.

  1. The gory death of the grandfather, the spooky pictures, the old house haunted with the ghosts of the children.
  2. Jacob meets the children, everyone is happy, every day is sunny, Jacob wishes he could stay in the loop forever.

Even though both parts are great, I would’ve liked the second half to keep some of its creepiness, since it’s what hooked me at the beginning.

I really liked the concept of the loop. The children keep reliving the same day at Miss Peregrine’s home, ending it each time with the bombs from WW2. I was expecting the bombs to play a bigger role in the end when the loop is broken, like killing someone or maybe seriously wounding someone.

My jaw dropped. “That was you in my room this morning?” I said. “The hawk?”

“The falcon,” she corrected. “A peregrine, naturally.”

“Then it’s true!” I said. “You are the Bird!”

“It’s a moniker I tolerate but do not encourage,” she replied.

-Ransom Riggs, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

I don’t know what you thought about the twisted relationship between Jacob and Emma, but I just loved how unusual it was. Dating his grandfather’s ex-girlfriend, an 88-year-old woman stuck in the body of a teenage girl? Never seen that before!

Now I want to know what you thought!

What did you like/didn’t like about it?
Any favorite character or peculiarity?

Were you expecting Dr. Golan to be a wight?
Have you seen the trailer of the movie yet? (It looks so different!)
Have you read/Will you read the rest of the series? (I’m looking forward to it!)

Here’s your chance to vote for the book of June. I was thinking about All the Bright Places, Jennifer Niven; The Secret Garden, Frances Hodgson Burnett; The City of Ember, Jeanne DuPrau.

18 thoughts on “Book Discussion: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. I’ve never really been interested in this book, honestly, but I think I may pick it up after reading your review! It definitely sounds pretty creepy (the fact about the photographs being authentic is pretty cool), and has a really interesting premise.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely loved the book, too. I liked Bronwyn the best, for the importance of her abilities in the end of the story. And even though I found Dr. Golan’s phone call a bit fishy, I never expected him to be a wight! It was a great twist to bring him back.

    A wonderful read. I’m looking forward to read the rest of the series. Some of the peculiarities were so original. Like the man with bees living inside of him, or Enoch’s ability with the dead.

    I just watched the movie trailer. How different, indeed! I feel like it’s going to be a complete other story.

    By the by, The Secret Garden is a great suggestion for next month. I’ve already read it, but I was too young to remember. I’ve heard great things about All The Bright Places, too.

    Like

    1. It was well done indeed to bring the psychiatrist back. It feels like every element of this novel was there for a purpose; no unecessary words. And I too liked Bronwyn a lot! At first her ability (crazy strength) seemed like the less original of the lot, but then her character becomes so vivid and complex she ended up one of my favourite characters! All of the children are very unique, adding a new colour to the novel.
      Thanks for your suggestions for next month!

      Like

  3. I’m actually super hyped for the film of this.
    And I never get that hyped over book to movie adaptions.
    However, I haven’t read the book yet and I’m hoping to do so before the movie comes out.
    I hope it doesn’t change too much but I have so much faith in Tim Burton, it’s like a match made in heaven.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you get the time to read it before the movie! It’s a really great book!
      The biggest alteration I spotted in the trailer was that a few characters had been mashed into one, so that one girl has multiple abilities when in the novel each character has one.
      But I totally agree. I have faith in Tim Burton, too, and I’m sure it’s going to be amazing anyway!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad that I had a chance to read this book. And yeah, I didn’t see this post earlier. But anyways, for all YA this book is a very good one to read. It became one of my favorite. Thank you too Miss Audrey for posting this book, because if wasn’t I’ll be one of those out of hip readers.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a super idea. Coincidentally, I am planning to start a Story Club – similar format as yours but short stories only and participants can write a piece on their favorite story and post in on their blog with a pingback to my blog so that everyone can hop over for a read and a different perspective – much like the short story challenges. Would be happy if you (and your friends) joined in 🙂

    Book club was originally my plan but due to paucity of time and my recent inclination towards short stories, I opted for the latter. But perhaps i will join in here as well – the Secret Garden is a favorite story and I recently re-read it as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’d be wonderful if you manage to join us once in a while 🙂 I’d love to hear your comments! And your Short Story Club sounds amazing! I’m really interested in following that! (I used to dislike short stories for some mysterious reason but I too have a recent inclination towards them!) I’ll stay tuned to your blog not to miss it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

