Update – 2016 Reading Challenge

DSCF6673 (2)

Half of the year has gone by already–how did that happen, seriously? Six months ago, I challenged myself to read a list of books in my bookshelf that I’ve always intended to read but never do because I buy new ones I’m too excited about. (Sounds familiar?)

To motivate myself, I put some brand new books through that list and guess what? I read those first! (Mostly.) And I bought new ones that I read between them, and now, I’m starting to feel like I’ll never complete this list.

I’m seeking encouragement.

I would love to hear you in the comments below. What did you read in this list? What did you like? How to STOP buying new books? Can I achieve this? Will I DIE?

Here’s the list:

  1. Great Expectations, Charles Dickens
  2. The Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown
  3. The Sound and the Fury, William Faulkner
  4. The Shining, Stephen King
  5. Station 11, Emily St. John Mandel
  6. The Rosie Effect, Graeme Simsion / Read, November 2016
  7. The Secret Garden, Frances Hodgson Burnett / Read, June 2016
  8. Ender’s Game, Orson Scott Card / Read, February 2016
  9. Winter’s Tale, Mark Helprin
  10. Room, Emma Donoghue / Read, March 2016
  11. Scarlet, Marissa Meyer / Read, January 2016
  12. Pandora, Anne Rice
  13. Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters, Jane Austen, Ben H. Winters
  14. I Am the Messenger, Markus Zusak / Read, May 2016
  15. The Casual Vacancy, J.K Rowling
  16. Ship Breaker, Paulo Bacigalupi
  17. The City and the City, China Miéville
  18. To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf
  19. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Sileg Larsson
  20. Throne of Glass, Sarah J. Maas / Read, June 2016

7/20 read

Thanks everyone!

Happy Half-Year! 😀

6 thoughts on “Update – 2016 Reading Challenge

  1. Great Expectations is one of my favorite Dickens classics. I love Dickens because he makes his characters so realistic. His writing is so vivid and always leaves me with great images. nice list.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

