2017 Reading Challenge

reading-challenge

2016 did not go as well as I’d hoped. Most of the TBR on my list remain unread, and I only read about 40 books in total. Overall, it was a good year anyway, because I read some REALLY great books, which you can have a peek at over here.

But 2016 is behind. Let’s focus on the year ahead! I have three goals for 2017.

 

GOAL ONE: Read a book in Spanish

GOAL TWO: Read at least 50 books

GOAL THREE: Read the following novels (novels that have been on my shelves for way too long):

 

  1. Great Expectations, Charles Dickens

  2. Cress, Marissa Meyer

  3. The Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown

  4. The Shining, Stephen King

  5. Winter’s Tale, Mark Helprin

  6. Fire, Kristin Cashore

  7. Pandora, Anne Rice

  8. To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf

  9. The City and the City, China Miéville

  10. An Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir

 

Yes. Sadly enough, most of the books figuring on this list were on my 2016 list as well, because I KEEP BUYING NEW ONES SOMEBODY STOP ME.

But I feel like 2017 is going to be a good reading year, and I hope you all the same! Let me know your goals for the year in the comments, I’d love to know!

Happy New Year everyone!

 

 

5 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenge

  1. Good luck in reading a book in Spanish. It’s quite a challenge–depending on your Spanish level, mine is rather embarrassing. I read Pandora last year and really appreciated it. Great Expectations is also on my list. Happy New Year, Audrey.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! Yeah a Spanish book WILL be a challenge, my Spanish courses are far behind, but I really want to travel to South America this summer so I’m in a full immersion mode. We’ll buddy read Great Expectations, then. Happy New Year, Jackie!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha it’s okay, I have the same problem of buying more books and choosing different books to read. 🙂

    I’m currently reading a book which contains various documents of the founding of America – The Federalist Papers, the Declaration, the Constitution, some speeches, some letters, etc. I had been meaning to read these documents for a long time because I’m slowly getting into learning early American history. A few other books that I’m hoping to read this year are Jane Eyre, Gone with the Wind, The Good Soldier Svejk, and whatever else is in my huge stash of books 😀

    Good luck with your 2017 reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Woah, good luck with these historic documents! That’s an impressive read! And oh! I loooove Jane Eyre (I’ve only seen the movie though but I definitely want to read the book!)
      Happy New Year, Marica, and good luck with your reading goals and other projects!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Blog Round-Up: January 2017 – Rachel Poli

Leave a Reply

