Top 5 Wednesday: Book Trends You’re Tired of

there-is-always-something-to-be-thankful-for

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

February 8th: Book Trends You’re Tired Of

What are some things you are tired of seeing that are trends in publishing? Maybe something that pops up on a lot of covers these days, or the popularity of certain tropes in a particular genre? Let it out!

FIVE

As much as I love The Hunger Games, I’m a bit tired of books—usually dystopian—in which the world or country is divided. Districts, factions, casts, call them what you want. Déjà vu.

dystopia

FOUR

Fairy Tales remakes. Some are great and authors still find a way to be original and that’s impressive. But I feel like all I see in bookstores lately are remakes of fairy tales, especially since the Beauty and Beast in coming out soon, and, well, I like my bookstores more diverse, ya know?

fairytales

THREE

I’m not sure this is a ‘trend’, but I really don’t like it when there’s a picture or drawing of a character on the cover. I try to like it; I just don’t. I like to imagine what he or she looks like in my head before.

picsoncovers

TWO

Multiple Point of Views. Skipping from one character to the next can be amazingly done, sometimes. But being abandoned after a HUGE cliffhanger to read an entire chapter about a girl spending a quiet afternoon at the beach or something. CAN WE TALK ABOUT THE GUY WHO JUST GOT SHOT?!

(That being said, some of my favourite books ever have multiple POV, like All the Bright Places and Six of Crows, so maybe I’m just in a mood. I just feel like multiple POV are everywhere, and I feel like reading ONE good story told by this ONE great voice.) (Recommendations? Anyone?)

pointofview

ONE

The word GIRL in a title. I feel like it’s wayyyy overused.

The Girl on the Train.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

The Girl with All the Gifts.

The Girl You Left Behind.

Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl.

Gone Girl.

Vanishing Girls.

Dancing Girls.

The Painted Girls.

The Good Girl.

Pretty Girls.

Twenties Girls.

The Girls.

I MEAN I CAN’T READ ANOTHER TITLE WITH GIRL IN IT I’LL GO CRAZY.

(I used pictures of novels fitting each point, but it doesn’t mean I didn’t like those novels. Some I haven’t read, and some are HIGH on my list of favourite novels. I just wanted to give examples.)

Anything book trends you guys are tired of? Let me know in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Book Trends You’re Tired of

  1. I personally enjoy dystopians (I like that dark, dismal, mysterious feel). But I couldn’t care less about fairy tale-type stories, and I can’t think of a book that I’ve read with “Girl” in its title.

    I’ve read a few books with multiple points of view… those few were good (“Unwind” was a recent read – that has a very interesting premise) but there have been a few (I’m reading one now) which is so clunky and confusing in its writing.

    Young Adult books haven’t made it too much to my reading in the last few years, as I’m trying to read more classics and nonfiction/history/theological books at this time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I hear Unwind is great! I hope I get the time to read it soon.
      Don’t get me wrong, I really love dystopians; it’s usually what I write, too, it’s just that some elements in this genre can feel a bit redundant (like the districts), especially when you read 10 dystopian novels in just a few months ahah.
      And yeah, sometimes multiple POV can be just confusing, but when it’s well done, it’s awesome!

      Like

  2. This is a great list! I definitely have to agree that I’m getting tired of the dystopians and the fairy tale remakes, which aren’t just in books, but in movies, too! And I really dislike faces on books, too! It messes up how I would imagine the character. And I usually like multiple POVs but they can definitely be overdone. Six of Crows was great though, so that one definitely didn’t bother me that much haha. I never noticed the overuse of “girl” in titles. LOL. That’s alarming 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Blog Round Up: February 2017 – Rachel Poli

Leave a Reply

