What I Remember of Dublin

DSCF1626
Newgrange

Dublin, Ireland. 2012.

I remember finding a very cheap way to get to Dublin (£35) to Dublin from Glasgow, Scotland, that included three buses, a ferry, a taxi, and that took over 20 hours of terribly uncomfortable naps.

I remember visiting the prison where U2 filmed A Celebration but I can never remember its name.
DSCF1498

(After a google search: Kilmainham Gaol)

DSCF1510

I remember St Patrick’s Cathedral and the memorial stones of Joyce and Wilde. (Writer Me can’t forget that.)
DSCF1354

DSCF1358

DSCF1359

I remember visiting the Newgrange prehistoric monument under such a crazy sun and bright blue sky that I couldn’t help thinking of the Teletubby land.
DSCF1620

DSCF1639

I mean, I know it was built around 3000 BC and 2500 BC, and it’s older than the Egyptian pyramids and all, but you have to admit it reminds you of the Teletubbies, too. Right?

teletubby land

Right?

I remember the Hill of Tara being quite windy. But also very sunny/Teletubbies-like. (Seriously, was the Teletubbies landscape inspired of Ireland or something?)

DSCF1570

DSCF1580

DSCF1563
(Stone of Destiny)

I remember thinking the Temple Bar was the oldest pub in Ireland.
DSCF1333

And then learning it’s actually The Brazen Head (built in 1198!).
DSCF1401

 

Have you ever been to Ireland?

What do you remember?

12 thoughts on “What I Remember of Dublin

Add yours

  1. I have been to Ireland! It was the last stop of my trip and to be honest… I don’t remember much. My friend and I stayed in Dublin and I think we were so over cities at that point. Also, some under construction so it just wasn’t as pretty. Ireland was one of the two countries I wanted to see the most from my trip but I made the mistake of going there last. By the time I got there I wasn’t as excited and I was actually a bit unimpressed. I want to go back in a few years hopefully I’ll really enjoy it then.

    Like

    1. Ohhh I totally get it. It was our last stop too, so by then we were tired and lazy and watched more Grey’s Anatomy episodes than we should have ahaha. We were also a lot more concerned about our budget (which was inexistent by then) so we didn’t do as much as we had initially planned. But I still have great memories! Since we stayed for about three weeks we had time to relax a few days between each activity. I want to go back, too, one day, but there’s so many other countries to see as well! We’ll see 🙂 P.S. Construction sites while travelling suck …

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never been to Ireland, but I’d love to. I’ve read a lot of books by an Irish author, Maeve Binchy and the stories are set in Ireland and I remember the word gaol being for jail/prison 🙂

    And yes, it looks just like teletubbies land 🙂

    Like

      1. I think it’s a female- but one can’t be too sure. For the longest time, I thought Enid Blyton was male. and for the longest time before then, I thought it was Gnid Blyton, just because of the font type used for her name … smh. Anyway, I recommend all, but the first I read was Evening Class- and some of the books have the same characters, which is nice- when you’ve read the books with those characters in it and you are somewhat familiar. Even if you haven’t read the other books, then it is incentive to find them.lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑